Hello again: what’s changed? (A very deep post of things that just needed to be said)

As is fairly obvious with the dates showing on my previous posts, it has been a while since I last posted on this blog, so it’s definitely necessary to reflect on the year that has passed; what have I learnt, how have I changed as a photographer, and what fantastic opportunities have been presented to me?

My Second year of BA Photography at Bath Spa Uni; where to start? First and foremost, I must say it was a great year. This year was split into three modules; Module one being ‘Fact’, module two being ‘Fiction’, and the third module being ‘Object, Figure, Space’. Over the course of these three projects, I don’t think I could have made these works any more different if I had tried. In hindsight, this is what it’s all about; finding out your strengths, what you enjoy, and what you wish to pursue in the future. This being said, I do find myself, and the ideas that I have changing at the same rate as I, myself, am changing as a person. Something that is so clear in my work, that has always remained, is this need to reflect on a social issue, or a matter, that to me, needs to be discussed; needs to be challenged. I have always believed that photography is a medium that allows us to do this; to approach matters in a different way, that words simply cannot encapsulate. Personally, I feel that if the context for a photograph isn’t there, then is there any point of that photograph being taken? Obviously, this is something that can be argued against, but to me, this is truth.

A project that I completed last year, which I am still proud of, to this day, is my project ‘Corporation Road’. This body of work looks at industry; the uncertainty of industry in the British landscape, and how this uncertainty effects the community that surrounds these industries. Who would be held accountable for the loss of these industries, and the subsequent loss of economic growth in these areas? More specifically, the subject for these photographs was a long road in Newport, South Wales, called Corporation Road. From early on, it became clear to me that the local steel industry in this area played a huge part when it comes to the survival, and livelihood of those who live along this particular stretch of road. Not only this, but a lot of what makes up the landscapes that surround us; that we live in, contributes to our sense of identity. I find that where we come from has a direct link to the ability of being able to visualise where you want to go; what you think is achievable. So, as much as this project is a comment on the economic and social benefits of industry in this area; it also makes us question what benefits this has on the lives of the individuals who live along this road. This is where I definitely feel my more political voice started to appear; this need to challenge social, economical, political, and historical aspects of life. This inquisitive mindset that I have formed has carried on massively into my third year, and I feel, is still evident in the work that I am producing now.

As I am now not far off finishing University, I now find myself reflecting on all the opportunities that I have had, and how these have massively helped my growth, not only as a photographer, but also as a person. My confidence not only in my work, but what i have to say with my work has massively grown. This all stems from this idea that I am creating work that I am deeply passionate about; that is first and foremost my priority. After this, I think about whether others can relate; is this something that needs to be said as means of benefiting others, or am I simply approaching this in such a personal way, that no one can relate? These opinions of mine, often stem from things that I have learnt; the people in the industry that have been kind enough to share their experiences have a direct influence on the opinions that I have now. I find that the guest talks that have taken place at the University have helped massively with the formation of my own ideas; they have opened my eyes to the reality of the photographic industry, and have provided information that I had little to no awareness of.  A lot of the questions that I have had have been answered with these talks, but from acquiring more knowledge, more questions form. So, in that sense, I have come to realise that after University, if I were to pursue a career as a photographer, I will always have unanswered questions about the world, but the act of photographing will help me find the answers.

 

Leave a comment